Moving Beyond My First DNF

As many of you know, I received my very first DNF at the SpeedGoat 50K on July 19th.  Although, I was somewhat disappointed that I missed an aid station cutoff, I was not terribly upset.  Like most people who have failed, you want to look back, reflect and learn from that failure.  In this instance, I concluded the following:

  1. Even though I was consuming 2 bottles of water between aid stations, I was still battling dehydration which significantly slowed my pace during the 2nd half of the race;
  2. You can never do to much hill work.  The 5 – 9 mile long climbs  to the top of mountains was unrelenting;
  3. Hiking poles appeared to be of great assistance to many especially during the latter stages of the race; and
  4. It is very hard from someone training at sea level to not struggle at altitude.  As noted in my previous blog, only about 4% of those who finished were not from the arid mountainous west.

So, as I ponder my Lessons Learned and use them to prepare for the upcoming Pine to Palm 100, I have discovered that I may be more sensitive to the DNF than I originally thought.  As the days have passed, I have picked up my training and have had very good runs.  However, I have a ‘good friend’ who has been somewhat unrelenting in his teasing and ridicule.  I have requested that he refrain from the negativity; however his actions persist.  It is only now, that I am questioning myself.

Can I complete the Pine to Palm without a DNF?  I know the Pine to Palm will be hard regardless of how much training one has endured.  I also know, that without the dedication there is little chance of success.  More importantly, without a positive attitude, the chances of success are greatly diminished.

Therefore, I will continue to train.  I will remain focused.  I will reduce the negativity.  I will, take one more step….one more step…one more step….

 

One thought on “Moving Beyond My First DNF”

  1. You did NOT fail Speedgoat in any way! Running is not black and white – if you start to look at it this way, you will diminish what you are trying to do out there. Remember, we do it because it is fun (well, usually). You will do great at P2P – have confidence in yourself and go out there and have a great time!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

